World Bowls Championships 2020 Team Announcement

Scotland’s bowlers are ready to take on the best players from around the globe at next year’s World Bowls Championships. The 2020 World Championships will be held on the Gold Coast, Australia and run between 26th May – 7th June.

Bowls Scotland’s High-Performance Selection Panel have shown complete confidence in the players that represented Scotland at the 2018 Commonwealth Games and contributed to the most successful Games ever by a Scottish lawn bowls team. From that squad, seven out of the 10 players that played on the Gold Coast in 2018 made themselves available for selection.

The men’s team remains the same from the 2018 Commonwealth Games with double gold medallists Ronnie Duncan and Derek Oliver returning to the Gold Coast next year. They will be joined by fellow 2018 gold medallist Darren Burnett, who will be competing in his fourth World Championships. The team is rounded off by Team Scotland Team of the Year Award winners and iconic duo Paul Foster MBE and Alex Marshall MBE.

In the women’s team, Stacey McDougall and Kay Moran have been selected following their silver medal in the triples at the 2018 Games. They will be joined by Lauren Baillie-Whyte, who won a bronze medal in the pairs at the 2016 World Championships in Christchurch, New Zealand. British Isles (BIWBC) singles and under 25 singles champions for 2018, Dee Hoggan and Claire Anderson complete the squad.

Siblings Carla and Jason Banks have also been selected as travelling reserves for the championships. Jason has continued to develop into one of Scotland’s most promising talents and confirmed this by recently winning the IIBC World under 25 men’s singles title. Whilst Carla has excelled in national and international competitions in recent years and also competed at the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa.

Bowls Scotland High Performance Coach, David Gourlay MBE, said: “The World Bowls Championships is the second biggest event on the bowls calendar, second only to the Commonwealth Games. Again, the championships will be held on Southern Hemisphere greens which always creates challenges for Northern Hemisphere countries. However, I have total confidence that the squad selected has the ability to challenge for medals.

“Every member of the squad has previous experience and success playing in the Southern Hemisphere and this was a crucial part of the selection process.”  

The championships will be held at three state of the art facilities on Australia’s Gold Coast. They are Broadbeach Bowling Club, Helensvale Bowling Club and Mussgrave Hill Bowling Club.


Men’s Team:

Ronnie Duncan

Derek Oliver

Darren Burnett

Paul Foster MBE

Alex Marshall MBE


Women’s Team:

Stacey McDougall

Kay Moran

Lauren Baillie-Whyte

Dee Hoggan

Claire Anderson


Travelling Reserves:

Jason Banks

Carla Banks

Our partners, suppliers and supporters...