Scotland playing positions confirmed for Birmingham 2022

Bowls Scotland’s High Performance Coaches have now confirmed the playing disciplines for next month’s Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Since Scotland’s Commonwealth bowlers were selected, our mainstream and para teams have competed against Australia, England, Ireland, Jersey, and Wales in numerous test matches this year. These competitive matches along with attending numerous squad training days have allowed the players to hone their skills and familiarise themselves with their teammates.

Lawn Bowls Team Manager for Birmingham 2022, Billy Mellors, said: "The disciplines and combinations appointed have been tested thoroughly since the team announcement and the management team are confident the balance is right.

“We are now in our final preparations ahead of Birmingham and the remaining sessions will focus on team cohesion and togetherness as we move towards the Games as one."

Please find below Scotland’s discipline selections:


Women’s Para Pairs:

Lead – Rosemary Lenton (Crichton BC)
Skip – Pauline Wilson (Willowbank BC)


Men’s Para Pairs:

Lead – Garry Brown (Blackwood Victoria BC)

Skip – Kevin Wallace (Clackmannan BC)


Mixed Visually Impaired Pairs:

Lead – Melanie Inness (Balerno BC). Director – George Miller (Saltcoats BC)

Skip – Robert Barr (Hyndland BC). Director – Sarah Jane Ewing (Abbeyview BC)


Women’s Singles:

Dee Hoggan (Tranent BC)


Women’s Pairs:

Lead – Hannah Smith (Auchinleck BC)

Skip – Claire Johnston (Auchinleck BC)


Women’s Triples

Lead – Dee Hoggan (Tranent BC)

Second – Lauren Baillie-Whyte (Cockenzie & Port Seton BC)

Skip – Caroline Brown (Motherwell BC)


Women’s Fours:

Lead – Hannah Smith (Auchinleck BC)

Second – Claire Johnston (Auchinleck BC)

Third – Lauren Baillie-Whyte (Cockenzie & Port Seton BC)

Skip – Caroline Brown (Motherwell BC)


Men’s Singles:

Iain McLean (Blackwood Victoria BC)


Men’s Pairs:

Lead – Paul Foster MBE (Troon BC)

Skip – Alex Marshall MBE (Gifford BC)


Men’s Triples:

Lead – Stewart Anderson (Eddlewood BC)

Second – Iain McLean (Blackwood Victoria BC)

Skip – Darren Burnett (Arbroath BC)


Men’s Fours:

Lead – Stewart Anderson (Eddlewood BC)

Second – Darren Burnett (Arbroath BC)

Third – Paul Foster MBE (Troon BC)

Skip – Alex Marshall MBE (Gifford BC)


Lawn Bowls will get underway on the Leamington Spa greens on Friday 29th July 2022. For more information, please visit:

Our partners, suppliers and supporters...