2021 World Bowls Championships Team Announcement

Scotland’s bowlers are ready to take on the best players from around the globe at next year’s re-scheduled World Bowls Championships. The 2021 World Championships will be held on the Gold Coast, Australia and run between 7th – 19th September.

The Championships were due to take place in May and June this year but unfortunately had to be postponed due to the COVID-19 global pandemic. Bowls Scotland’s High-Performance Selection Panel met and unanimously agreed that the selection for the original event should stand for the re-arranged championships.

The men’s team remains the same from the 2018 Commonwealth Games with double gold medallists Ronnie Duncan and Derek Oliver returning to the Gold Coast next year. They will be joined by fellow 2018 gold medallist Darren Burnett, who will be competing in his fourth World Championships. The team is rounded off by 2019 Team Scotland Team of the Year Award winners and iconic duo Paul Foster MBE and Alex Marshall MBE.

In the women’s team, Stacey McDougall and Kay Moran have been selected following their silver medal in the triples at the 2018 Games. They will be joined by Lauren Baillie-Whyte, who won a bronze medal in the pairs at the 2016 World Championships in Christchurch, New Zealand. British Isles (BIWBC) singles champion for 2018, Dee Hoggan, and former World Youth Championships Mixed Pairs silver-medallist, Claire Anderson, complete the squad.

Siblings Carla and Jason Banks have also been selected as travelling reserves for the championships. Jason has continued to develop into one of Scotland’s most promising talents and confirmed this by winning the IIBC World under 25 men’s singles title in 2019. Whilst Carla has excelled in national and international competitions in recent years and also competed at the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa.

Bowls Scotland High Performance Coach, David Gourlay MBE, said: “I’m delighted that the selection panel has shown faith in the players initially selected for the World Championships. I would also like to thank all the players for once again making themselves available for selection.

“Again, the championships will be held on Southern Hemisphere greens which always creates challenges for Northern Hemisphere countries. However, we can’t wait to get our preparations underway and I have total confidence that the squad selected has the ability to challenge for medals.”

The championships will be held at three state of the art facilities on Australia’s Gold Coast. They are Broadbeach Bowling Club, Helensvale Bowling Club and Mussgrave Hill Bowling Club.


Men’s Team:

Ronnie Duncan (Bonnyrigg BC)

Derek Oliver (Cockenzie & Port Seton BC)

Darren Burnett (Arbroath BC)

Paul Foster MBE (Troon BC)

Alex Marshall MBE (Gifford BC)


Women’s Team:

Stacey McDougall (Dalkeith BC)

Kay Moran (Crookston BC)

Lauren Baillie-Whyte (Cockenzie & Port Seton BC)

Dee Hoggan (Tranent BC)

Claire Anderson (Eddlewood BC)


Travelling Reserves:

Jason Banks (Inverurie BC)

Carla Banks (Inverurie BC)

Our partners, suppliers and supporters...