Scotland v Ireland Para Test Match team announcement

Bowls Scotland is delighted to announce the team to represent Scotland in an upcoming test match against Ireland which will be held at the National Centre for Bowling, Ayr on Tuesday 7th and Wednesday 8th May.

The event kicks off this year’s international calendar and is the first event Scotland have competed in since we launched our Drive to Success – Player Pathway. Four sessions of play will be contested over the two days with the matches featuring a mixture of physically disabled and visually impaired singles, pairs and triples.

The 24-strong selected team features an experienced line up but also eight newcomers at international level in Amy Buck, Jenine Buck, Laura Cluxton, Gary Hinks, Shazaid Hussain, Steve Key, John Miller and Sharon Moncrieff, who will all be making their Scotland debuts.

Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games gold medallists Robert Barr, Garry Brown and Melanie Inness will spearhead the team’s hopes following impressive displays at last year’s World Bowls Championships in Australia.

Bowls Scotland’s Para Pathway Lead, Derek Lang, said: “I am looking forward to welcoming the Irish team to Scotland for our upcoming test match.

“Ireland will provide a strong challenge for us and I’m sure the event will be highly competitive and a great opportunity for our players to test themselves on the international stage.”

Daily reports will be published on our website and social media pages during the event. Scotland’s full team is listed below:-

Visually Impaired:

Jim Aitken (Allandale BC – Director)

Robert Barr (Hyndland BC)

Amy Buck (Marchmount BC)

Jenine Buck (Marchmount BC – Director)

Laura Cluxton (Alloa East End BC)

James Dick (Ancrum BC)

Sarah Jane Ewing (Abbeyview BC – Director)

Ian Graham (Stenhousemuir BC)

Melanie Inness (Balerno BC)

George Miller (Saltcoats BC – Director)

John Miller (Bishopbriggs BC)

Sharon Moncrieff (Airdrie BC)

Chris Morrow (Willowbank BC – Director)

Ross Noble (Summerside BC)

Iain Riach (Woodend BC – Director)

Mary Stevenson (Shanks BC)


Physically Disabled:

Garry Brown (Blackwood Victoria BC)

Mark Fleming (Windygates Durievale BC)

Gary Hinks (Dunning BC)

Shazaid Hussain (Meikleriggs BC)

Steve Key (Inchture BC)

Fraser Mathieson (Bridge of Allan BC)

Michael Simpson (Strathmiglo BC)

Stuart Stevens (Greenfaulds BC)



Amanda Easson (Head Coach)

Pauline Wilson (Support Coach)

Our partners, suppliers and supporters...