Ireland test match team announced

Bowls Scotland is pleased to announce the team to represent Scotland against Ireland in a test match to be held at the National Centre for Bowling, Ayr on Friday 7th and Saturday 8th July.

The event will provide an opportunity for both developing and experienced international players to showcase their talents with future major events in mind.

In the women’s team of six players, Dawn Anderson, Megan Grantham, Dee Hoggan, Kara Lees and Rachel Sinclair have all been selected as part of the current High Performance squad. 2022 Bowls Scotland Ladies National Singles champion, Natalie McWilliams, has also been selected following her recent silver medal in the Ladies Singles at the British Isles Championships.

Eight players have been selected in the men’s team which features Mark O’Hagan, Neil Speirs and Darren Weir from our existing High Performance squad. They are joined by current men’s internationalists, Andy Dunnett, Darren Gualtieri and James Hogg as well as under 25 internationals, Aaron Betts and Danny Stevenson.

Looking ahead to the event, Women’s High Performance Head Coach, Wendy Purdie, said: “The upcoming test series against Ireland is a great opportunity to continue to develop our players at an international level. We look forward to welcoming our friends from Ireland to Ayr once again and seeing matches contested in a championship format.”

Frazer Muirhead, Men’s High Performance Head Coach, added: “We have picked a mixture of High Performance, internationalists and up and coming talented players from our current under 25 international team to play against Ireland. This will give them all a great opportunity to further develop their skills against a good Ireland team and gain more experience. I’m looking forward to a great two days of play.”

A series of Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours test matches will be contested during the two days play and the results will be published on our website & social media pages. Scotland’s full team is listed below:


Dawn Anderson (Newton Park BC)

Megan Grantham (Eskmills BC)

Dee Hoggan (Tranent BC)

Kara Lees (Townhill BC)

Natalie McWilliams (Crookston BC)

Rachel Sinclair (Kingswood BC)


Aaron Betts (Craigentinny BC)

Andrew Dunnett (Queensferry BC)

Darren Gaultieri (Hyndland BC)

James Hogg (Carrick Knowe BC)

Mark O’Hagan (Whitefield BC)

Neil Speirs (Kirkliston BC)

Danny Stevenson (East Lothian Co-Op BC)

Darren Weir (Troon BC)

Our partners, suppliers and supporters...