Scotland team named for Leamington Spa Tri-Nations

Bowls Scotland is pleased to confirm the team to represent Scotland at an upcoming tri-nations test match against Australia and Ireland which will be held at Leamington Spa Bowling Club, Victoria Park from Wednesday 11th – Friday 13th May.

This event will be a key part of Scotland’s Commonwealth Games preparations ahead of Birmingham 2022. Nine of the 10 players selected in the mainstream squad will be competing at the Commonwealth Games later in the year with two-time Commonwealth Games gold medallist, Derek Oliver, replacing Alex Marshall MBE as he will be competing in Australia during this event.

In the para squad, all eight Birmingham 2022 players feature along with an additional seven athletes who all have previous experience of international events. Ireland are unfortunately not competing in the para event so Australia and Scotland will both be entering two teams each to enable more competitive matches.

Looking ahead to the tri-nations, Scotland’s Commonwealth Games Lawn Bowls Team Manager, Billy Mellors, said: We now start the final phase of preparations for Birmingham 2022 which is not only a crucial period but also very exciting.

“This event will be used primarily to extend our knowledge of the Leamington Spa greens and to give our players the opportunity to play against international opposition for the first time in 10 months. The players have now received their red and blue bowls which are mandatory for the Commonwealth Games, and this will be an ideal chance to ensure we are equipped correctly ahead of the event itself in late July.

“As a group, we are moving in the right direction, and we anticipate a productive trip to Leamington Spa next week."

Daily reports will be published on our website and social media pages during the event. The full team is listed below:-



Lauren Baillie-Whyte

Caroline Brown

Dee Hoggan

Claire Johnston

Hannah Smith


Stewart Anderson

Darren Burnett

Paul Foster MBE 

Iain McLean

Derek Oliver



Robert Barr

Garry Brown

Garry Hood

Melanie Inness

Rosemary Lenton

Glen Livingston

Sandy MacIntosh

Mary Stevenson

Kevin Wallace

John Wardrope

Mary Wilson

Pauline Wilson

Sarah Jane Ewing (Director)

George Miller (Director)

Chris Morrow (Director)



Billy Mellors (Team Manager)

Robert Christie

Chris McGready

Eric McMillan

Frazer Muirhead

George Sneddon

Our partners, suppliers and supporters...