Scotland v England Para Test Match team announcement

Bowls Scotland is delighted to announce the team to represent Scotland in an upcoming test match against England which will be held at the National Centre for Bowling, Ayr on Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd September.

This event replaces the annual Para Home Nations, which was due to be held on the same weekend, due to Wales unfortunately withdrawing. Scotland will now compete directly against England across four sessions of play over the two-day test match. The disciplines will feature visually impaired singles and pairs as well as physically disabled singles, pairs and triples.

The 15-strong selected team features an experienced line up but also seven newcomers at international level in Cat Black, James Dick, Mark Fleming, Ross Noble, Alex Paterson Iain Riach and Ross Young, who will all be making their Scotland debuts in September.

Billy Allan and Michael Simpson will spearhead the teams hopes following on from their gold medals in the Gents B6 and Gents B7/B8 Singles disciplines at the 2023 National Championships. Mary Wilson, Bowls Scotland and Erskine’s new partnership ambassador, is also included in the team after securing a bronze medal in the Ladies B6/B7/B8 Singles at the National Championships.

Bowls Scotland’s Para Bowls Head Coach, Bob Christie, said: “Due to the high level of performances by all the players at the recent trial it gave the selection group an extremely difficult task in selecting a team.

“We are confident we have a good mix of experienced players and new blood which will bond quickly and forge a strong challenge to win the test match against England.”

Daily reports will be published on our website and social media pages during the event. Scotland’s full team is listed below:-

Visually Impaired:

Jim Aitken (Allandale BC – Director)

Cat Black (Wishaw BC)

James Dick (Ancrum BC)

Sandy Mackintosh (The Inverness BC)

Ross Noble (Sighthill BC)

Iain Riach (Woodend BC – Director)

Nigel Walker (Inverkeithing BC – Director)

Physically Disabled:

Billy Allan (Kelty BC)

Mark Fleming (Windygates Durievale BC)

Glen Livingston (Friockheim BC)

Alex Paterson (Wallyford BC)

Michael Simpson (Strathmiglo BC)

Stuart Stevens (Greenfauld BC)

Mary Wilson (Trinity BC)

Ross Young (Balerno BC)


Amanda Easson

Thomas Hamilton

Ian Hepworth


Our partners, suppliers and supporters...