Scotland disciplines confirmed for 2023 British Isles Internationals

Bowls Scotland’s High Performance Coaches have now confirmed the playing disciplines for the 2023 British Isles Internationals.

Scotland will take on England, Ireland, Jersey and Wales at the National Centre for Bowling, Ayr from Friday 30th June – Sunday 2nd July.

The 24 male and 24 female players selected have been split into two separate teams, Scotland Saltire and Scotland Thistle, which will feature a Men’s & Women’s Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours. Following Darren Burnett’s retirement from outdoor international bowls, Liam McKay has been brought into Scotland Thistle’s men’s team as a travelling reserve.

To view the full event programme, please click here.

Reports will be published on our website and social media pages throughout the weekend. Please find below Scotland’s discipline selections:


Women’s Singles – Dee Hoggan (Tranent BC)

Men’s Singles – Mark O’Hagan (Whitefield BC)

Women’s Pairs – Emma McIntyre (Dumbarton BC) & Claire Anderson (Quarter BC)

Men’s Pairs – Jason Banks (Inverurie BC) & Paul Foster MBE (Troon BC)

Women’s Triples – Kara Lees (Townhill BC), Paula Preston (Winchburgh BC) & Rachel Sinclair (Kingswood BC)

Men’s Triples – Gordon White (Aberlady BC), Andy Dunnett (Queensferry BC) & Neil Speirs (Kirkliston BC)

Women’s Fours – Lauren Forgie (Bridge of Allan BC), Gail Notman (Stonehouse BC), Megan Grantham (Eskmills BC) & Stacey McDougall (Dalkeith BC)

Men’s Fours – Reece Notman (Stonehouse BC), Calum Logan (Kirkliston BC), Andy Caldwell (Craigentinny BC) & Derek Oliver (Cockenzie & Port Seton BC)

Women’s Reserves – Rebecca Houston (Prestwick BC) & Lorna Smith (Linlithgow BC)

Men’s Reserves – Paul Kane (Airdrie Central BC) & Robert Lenza (Thornhill BC)


Women’s Singles – Natalie McWilliams (Crookston BC)

Men’s Singles – Iain McLean (Blackwood Victoria BC)

Women’s Pairs – Carla Banks (Inverurie BC) & Lynn Lees (Townhill BC)

Men’s Pairs – Greg McLaughlin (Quarter BC) & Alex Marshall MBE (Gifford BC)

Women’s Triples – Kimberley Dodds (Cupar BC), Dawn Anderson (Newton Park BC) & Lawra Cox (West Kilbride BC)

Men’s Triples – Darren Weir (Troon BC), Connor Milne (Tarves BC) & James Hogg (Carrick Knowe BC)

Women’s Fours – Stephanie Wallace (Alloa East End BC), Beth Riva (Gifford BC), Chloe Thomson (Tanfield BC) & Caroline Brown (Motherwell BC)

Men’s Fours – Mark Kelsey (Rutherglen BC), Andy Furye (Carnoustie West End BC), Gary Prunty (Airdrie Central BC) & Grant Logan (Kirkliston BC)

Women’s Reserves – Lauren Baillie-Whyte (Cockenzie & Port Seton BC) & Sarah Jane Ewing (Abbeyview BC)

Men’s Reserves – Darren Gualtieri (Hyndland BC) & Liam McKay (Tanfield BC)

Our partners, suppliers and supporters...