

Bowls Scotland

National Centre for Bowling Northfield, Hunters Avenue, Ayr, KA8 9AL

Tel 01292 294 623

Bowls Scotland Board Meeting

Monday 4th of October 2017, 1630 hrs

Harper Macleod Offices, The Ca'd'oro, 45 Gordon St, Glasgow G1 3PE

Present:

Sue Beatt - Chair (SB), Tom Hamilton (TH), Bob Christie (BC), Andrew Upton (AU), David Scoullar (DC), Craig McArthur (CM), Anna Marshall (AM), Scott Meechan (SM).

In Attendance: Alan McMillan CEO (AMcM), Fiona Fagan (FF),

Apologies: Lynn Wallace, Eddie Nicholson, Bill Knox, Margaret Bingham.

- Chairs Opening Remarks- on behalf of the Board SB wished to congratulate the newly announced players for the Lawn Bowls Commonwealth Games team; Caroline Brown, Claire Johnston, Stacey McDougall, Kay Moran, Lesley Doig, Alex Marshall MBE, Paul Foster MBE, Darren Burnett, Ronnie Duncan, Derek Oliver Support Team: Head Coach- David Gourlay, Team Manager Ricky Taylor, Support Coaches- Sandra McLeish & George Sneddon. SB also congratulated BC on being voted in as the Junior Vice President of the European Bowls Union.
- 2. Declarations of Interest- BC- if there was any discussion about presidential positions.
- 3. <u>Previous Minutes</u> 20th of September 2017- These would be deferred to the next full Board meeting on the 5th of December as this meeting would centre around the 2017 AGM.
- 4. Proposals
 - 4.1. AGM Agenda
 - 4.1.1. Accounts- CM talked through the draft accounts, highlighting the following
 - There was an estimated surplus in the current draft accounts.
 - A meeting with the Accountants BDO will be set up asap to finalise the accountants with the minor changes and then sent out to the Board for approval.
 - The Board approved the accounts in principle with full approval being sought once the final draft is released.
 - CM would write a sheet highlighting certain areas of the accounts to also include figures from this year's Super Series.
 - 4.1.2. Resolutions- Fixed Fee capitation The Board discussed at length the outcomes from the various roadshows designed to gauge opinion about the new way of collecting capitation. It was agreed that there was general support for the capitation process with only one or two objecting. The Board fully approved Fixed Fee Capitation being presented as a motion to the members at the 2017 AGM
 - 4.1.3. Nominations- president/Hon Members

A discussion took place regarding the nomination submitted by a club nomination a Vice president (VP) who was not a current District Secretary. It was agreed that there should be no deviation from the custom and practice of the longest serving District Secretary being the vice president and then automatically moving onto President.

It was agreed by the Board that Kathleen Gordon be nomination for lady VP.

The Board then agreed the following for Honorary Membership

- Outgoing Presidents- L Wallace and E Nicholson.
- Margaret Letham her playing services to the sport
- Roddy Mitchell, undertaking his district secretary role for 10 years or more
- It was agreed that both Joyce Lindores and Heather Rankin be specifically mentioned at the beginning of the meeting. It was also agreed to make mention of past President Douglas Johnstone who died in 2017.
- 4.1.4. Paperwork for clubs-agree
- 4.1.5. Approval of BDO as Accountants for 2017/18- fully approved by the Board
- 4.2. Board nominations- Both AU and DS left the meeting
 - 4.2.1. Andrew Upton- The Board fully approved AU's nomination for appointment
- 4.2.2. David Scoullar- The Board fully approved DS's nomination for appointment AOCB

Mtg closed at 1810 hrs